I’m Going to the Super Bowl

The mayo told me to.

It was at this exact point in the turkey sandwich I made myself for lunch that I decided I’m going to the Super Bowl and taking this blog on the road. Now before you wonder what kind of magical lettuce I had between that roasted bird and potato bread, I didn’t decide out of the clear blue yonder to go for no reason and with no plan. It’s something I’ve been kicking around since last week when I found out my friend Matthew would be heading to the Bud Light Hotel for work for 10 days.

All it took then to convince me was a few days of considering the odds of having another friend with a free beachfront place to stay for the Super Bowl in South Beach, the stuff I’d be doing otherwise (see previous entries) and the making of the following list of reasons this morning before the eating of my epiphanal sandwich.

  1. As I wrote above, the odds of me ever again getting to do something like this are slim, approximately 1,344,332,129.2 to 1. About the same as getting electrocuted and gaining electromagnetic powers from it.
  2. Sunday is my 28th birthday and I can’t think of a better present to give myself then a surprise* uninvited stay with a friend in South Beach who will be busy working the whole time.
  3. The South American doctor I talk to over the internet concerning all matters of health thought this was a good idea considering my mild case of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).
  4. I’ve always wanted to drive through the state of Georgia alone while listening to NPR on the off chance I would get stopped and end up in some kind of hilarious comedy like Cool Hand Luke where I learn the meaning of true friendship during a summer on a chain gang.
  5. Believe it or not, between getting beaten by 12 year-olds on Xbox, making turkey sandwiches and pretending to read smart books at the local coffee store, I do have the time.
  6. No story that begins with “So I went and crashed with my friend who was working at the Super Bowl in South Beach” ever ends badly. At least not one I’ve ever heard.
  7. And last but not least, I heard Justin Timberlake might be there, and as you can see from the following photo, we have unfinished business:

*I know blogging about this ruins the surprise, but when you think about it, does putting any surprise on the internet ruin it or does it automatically make it better?

Leave a Reply

