Day 4: Blame it on the Rain

Water!

When it rains, I often find myself writing hip-hop songs for a future album I call “Greatest Hits”*, which is exactly what I did today in good ole Miami.

You Can Blame it on the Rain

Yo, yo, yo, Yo yo yo yo yo,
Yo yo, yo yo, yo yo yo yo yo yo,
Check check it, check it out now check it
It’s raining out, and you should respect it

Not the “out” but the rain is to what I’m referring
I just saw three people do what some call ‘conferring’
Potato salad’s good, but not if it’s burning
That’s a totally different subject, I should be re-turning

To the discussion about rain that this hot track is
In the 1930’s people would go get a fizz
Rainy or not they would drink that ish up
Because they were crazy, they loved holding cups

Again I digress from the matter at hand
The rainy outside and it’s effect on my plans
I was considering a day-drink or a stroll by ocean
Maybe talk to a stranger and show no emotion

Convince them I’m a robot or a weird foreign dude
Then suddenly change and be way too rude
Speaking of rudeness I was kinda of a jerk
In the lobby to a girl just trying to work

She said, “you look dry even though it’s real wet”
I pointed to my umbrella and said, “that’s why this I did get”
Then I walked away mid-sentence not realizing she wasn’t done
As though anything she said would be far less than fun

It wasn’t really that, but my Yoda type respond
That backwards talk grammar made me want to abscond
It really wasn’t like me, I’m really not that chilly
I’ll just blame it on the rain like effin’ Milli Vanilli

Yo, yo, yo, Yo yo yo yo yo,
Yo yo, yo yo, yo yo yo yo yo yo,
Check check it, check it out now check it
It’s raining out, you should respect it

On a related note, if anyone out there likes to make hot beats and has one they think would be pretty close to ideal for my crazy-amazing lyrics, holler at me, please.

*I have always wanted to have a first album and call it “Greatest Hits”, I have no idea why.

Leave a Reply

